Fresh Fish Congee with Dried Scallop — an experimental cooking method…

From Post a Day to Post a Week, and From My Notebook to Food for Thought

I have been neglecting my foodblog for a while, because I posted primarily on another blog My Notebook in the past month, usually in response to the weekly photo challenge. I was also trying to post a day, but could not keep it up.  Starting this week, I am trying to post a week instead. I also realized that I do have family and friends following my foodblog! They are all good cooks! Yet they want to see what I am up to!   Sorry, my friends, I couldn’t keep up my work (blogging)!  Here’s  something that I experimented today.  I would like to share with you, and hope to hear your feedback!

The fish

Today, I went to the market to buy some fish to cook. When I was waiting for my turn at the fish area, I saw the fish guy chopping a fresh (swimming) tilapia for a lady. It was pinkish tilapia instead of the black ones that I used to cook. She asked him to chop into small pieces and said that she would use these pieces: the head, bones etc to boil congee. I was curious. I asked her if that was a better choice than just steaming the fish and eating it with rice. Her husband besides her said that it was great.

Experiment Began

Out of curiosity and the urge to try new things, I followed suit. I bought two fishes, one chopped and the other whole. I also cooked rice with one rice cooker and congee with another. Why? Because I have no confidence if the congee will work.

Like another fellow blogger, I would like to experiment and share with you the outcome. Let us start now.

For this congee, I want to add dried scallop. I used three pieces of scallop which were already softened in water last night. This will enhance the taste of the congee.

Then I put rice into a rice cooker which has a button to cook congee. More water was added. With one cup of rice, I added water up to the level of four in the cooker.

Then i added the dried scallop, and pressed the cook button.

When the water had boiled for 10 minutes, I added the fish pieces.

When the congee was nearly cooked, I added a few pieces of Chinese cabbage (bok choy)

When the congee was cooked, I scooped out a portion of congee plus fish plus vegetable. You may think that it looks like rice and not congee. It is a bit thick but all congee in the Northern part of China is thick and I like thicker congee.

Outcome

It was pretty good but the taste could be stronger. I guess if you have eaten out too much, it is a good alternative: very simple and nutritious with rice, fish and vegetables all cooked in one rice cooker! For those of you who like stronger taste, you may consider adding a little soya sauce, or use chicken broth instead of water, or use soya sauce and sugar to marinate the fish before putting the pieces in.

However, the work entailed afterwards was too labor-intensive. As another lady at the market already warned me, ” be careful with the bones”. Indeed I spent lots of time removing all the bones from the congee. Therefore this congee is definitely not suitable for children. Don’t even try if you have young children at home!

To be safe, as I said, I cooked rice in another rice cooker, and another fish using the method I wrote in an earlier post. Here it is. Which one would you prefer?

I think next time, I will cook this congee in a different way.  Till next time, bon appetit!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 thoughts on “Fresh Fish Congee with Dried Scallop — an experimental cooking method…

  1. Congeehas never appealed to me that much but I think I might like the very thick kind. Also … I just *love* dried scallops. I have some lovely big ones, and some really tiny ones …. I am missing the medium size ones I usually use. I have a post just waiting to be written aboutn them 🙂

  2. Pingback: HIS ESCAPE…..WHAT’S YOURS? « Fairy Godsister's Blog

I appreciate your comments

