French Press or Pour-Over? Ethiopian Fancy or Ethiopian Supernatural? Is Coffee tasting fun?

Many people like wine-tasting.  Have you ever attended coffee tasting?  Tonight, it was my first time, tasting coffee at Peet’s Coffee and Tea in the East Bay.

When my friend and I went to Peet’s after dinner in a restaurant nearby, we only wanted to get a cup of good coffee, from its single cup selections.  Well, two ladies asked us to join the coffee-tasting.  A long table was already well decorated and they were just waiting for customers to participate.  Free coffee and desserts?  Why not?  We had actually already bought coffee and desserts.  Out of curiosity, we participated.

It was a tasting of two types of Ethiopian coffee:  Ethiopian Fancy, and Ethiopian Supernatural.  There were two types of brewing methods:  French Press and Pour-over.  Altogether, we tried four small cups of coffee:  French Press Ethiopian Fancy, French Press Ethiopian Supernatural, Pour-Over Ethiopian Fancy, Pour Over Ethiopian Supernatural.

I got some information from the Peet’s website about Ethiopian Fancy:

http://www.peets.com/shop/coffee_detail.asp?id=34&cid=1000181

Ethiopian Fancy

Medium-bodied coffee that is tangy and pungent with a lingering floral, almost perfume aroma.

Ethiopian coffee can be described as medium-bodied and full of flavor. From good lots, you get a tangy, pungent brew with a lingering floral-almost perfume aroma. The floral aromatic characteristics are easily noted in the freshly ground coffee as well.

Ethiopian Supernatural

From the pamphlet distributed :   It is “natural”, which is to say a dry-process coffee.   Natural is the original method of processing coffee.  What makes it super? Because of its out-of-this-world flavor. It is bursting with wild blue-berry sweetness, complexity and unforgettable richness.

Which one ranked #1?

This is my own preference:  French Press of Ethiopian Fancy.  French Press coffee has a layer of oil on the top, and is not filtered.  Pour-over is filtered, and so it is clearer without oil on the top.  Well, coffee beans are roasted.  So, I think the French Press method has preserved the smell and the flavor of the coffee.  Why Fancy is better than Supernatural?  Fancy has the smell of lemon.  Supernatural has the smell of blueberry.  It seems that the taste of Fancy has a subtle lemon taste, but the Supernatural has little blueberry taste, which reduces the richness.  Perhaps the first taste (I tried the Fancy first) may have made a difference.  Anyway, this is absolutely individual preference.  All of them are good.

The two ladies did a great job, explaining the two types of coffee and the methods of brewing the coffee.  They invited us to come again.  There is tasting event every Friday night, including tea tasting!  Stay tuned!

 

15 thoughts on “French Press or Pour-Over? Ethiopian Fancy or Ethiopian Supernatural? Is Coffee tasting fun?

  1. One simply cannot beat the fresh taste of a coffee brewed with the French Press method. I truly miss having access to coffee shops in NYC that sold fresh Ethiopian beans that I would bring home and grind to-order in my own press! Ahh, but your lovely post helped me to re-live those delicious moments!

  2. I am a big fan of the Ethiopian Fancy, since it is now my normal coffee purchase at Peets. But I have to say that in my opinion, the Ethiopian SuperNatural is in another league in terms of overall complexity and aromatic qualities. I guess if one does not like blueberry, that would be another thing, but…

    I always brew my coffee with an Espresso machine. Both coffees show very well there, with the varietal characteristics shining through…

    • Thanks so much for your comments. I am quite happy that this little post has had quite a few responses from the blogging community. It means coffee really has a big influence on our daily life.
      I thought I should go to your blog to take a look at yours and see if I find something interesting, but I didn’t see it. Anyway, thanks for stopping by. Have a wonderful holiday season and happy new year!

I appreciate your comments

