Braised Pork and Taro with “Chu Hou” Paste

20120813-224659.jpg

Braised Pork and Taro with “Chu Hou” Paste

This is a very popular dish among family and friends.  I love  to eat taro but dislike the process of cutting its rugged and hairy skin.  Also when peeled, the taro’s surface has become very slimy.  Like many people, I am allergic to the slimy surface. In addition, it is so hard when it is raw, that I cannot handle the cutting of the taro.   But i love to eat taro!  How should I handle this love and hate situation?  Well, I must say that I am smart!  Not even my sister who is a good cook, know that there are options for people like me! I found that taro is sold in Chinese supermarket, already peeled. They are available in plastic bags sealed in a very clean condition. How can I cut them since they are so hard.  Well, I don’t have to cut them, till they are cooked and softened. Here’s the details how I made this yummy dish without much trouble. I would say that it is as easy as A B C! The secret ingredient is the “Chu hou” paste available in the Chinese supermarket.

Ingredients and Preparation:

  1. Two to three big pieces of taro, already peeled. No need to cut. Just wash and dry with paper towel.
  2. 1 1/2 lb of pork butt. Ask the butcher to cut them into big pieces for you. Boil a pot of water and let the pork be boiled for a minute or two, to get rid of the fat and to clean the meat. Take the meat out and drain.
  3. Chu hou paste ( Lee Kam Kee) two tablespoons.  Chu hou paste is made of soya bean, garlic, ginger, and sesame seeds, used to braise meat and vegetables.
  4. One teaspoon of crushed ginger.
  5. One teaspoon of crushed garlic.
  6. One tablespoon of organic coconut oil.
  7. Two three cups of water.  

Cooking Directions:

  1. Heat the oil in a pan or wok.
  2. Add ginger and garlic. Sauté .
  3. Add the Chu hou paste. Sauté .
  4. Add the pork. Sauté .
  5. Add the taro, and water.
  6. Cover with a lid, and bring the mixture to a boil in high heat. 
  7. Lower the heat to medium, and then continue in slow cooking for about 40 minutes, till the meat is cooked and the taro softened but not totally dissolved. 
  8. Add water if needed.  Just make sure that the mixture is not stuck to the wok, or get burned. 
  9. Add Chu hou paste to taste, if needed.
  10. As the moisture may be sticky to the wok, stir momentarily, but make sure that the taro is “intact”.
  11. When the taro is soft enough, and the meat is cooked, take out the taro carefully, in big pieces, if possible.
  12. Cut into pieces nicely as shown in the picture above.  Arrange them on one side of the plate.
  13. Take the pork pieces out and put them on the other side of the plate.
  14. Pour the taro mixture left in the wok over the taro pieces and pork.
  15. Ready to eat.

If you want “more work”, leave the pork uncut before the cooking begins.  Then cut the pork into nice pieces like the taro, after it is cooked.  My sister always does this.  For me, since the butcher is such a nice guy,  I will let him do that!

Taro is high in fiber, lower in calories, and very filling.  Therefore it is a healthy alternative for starch.  If you have not cooked taro like the way I did, why don’t you try this recipe and let me know if you like it?

I appreciate your comments

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

