Pear Salad with Maple Dijon Vinaigrette

http://www.creative-culinary.com/2011/01/salad-with-pear-gorgonzola-carmelized-pecans-and-maple-dijon-vinaigrette/


This dish had been my most favorite salad at Nordstrom Cafe for many years.  Even the servers who knew me so well…they knew what I wanted each time.  It is only recently that I tried to “forget” about this and began to try something new.  Most likely it is my own personality.  I am faithful to whatever/and whoever I like!  But it’s time to find something new and interesting.  There is so much fun trying something new.

I found this article on line.  The author said her daughter was an intern at a nordstrom cafe.  The cafe personnel did say they can share their recipes with customers if they really like them so much.  In many occasions, I proved this to be correct.  Whatever we asked, we were given.  I didn’t ask for this recipe as I thought I know about it!  In fact, I don’t.  This is what I think the best I found so far.

http://www.creative-culinary.com/2011/01/salad-with-pear-gorgonzola-carmelized-pecans-and-maple-dijon-vinaigrette/

Salad Ingredients

  • Mesclun greens, 4-6 cups
  • 2 pears, peeled and chopped (toss with some lemon juice to keep them from discoloring if necessary)
  • 1/4 cup thinly sliced red onion rings, halved
  • 1/3 cup crumbled Gorgonzola cheese
  • 2/3 cup Maple Candied Walnuts or Pecans (in a pinch, just toast some nuts), roughly chopped

Maple Candied Walnuts or Pecans

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup pecan or walnut halves

Preparation

  1. Melt the butter in a pan
  2. Mix in the maple syrup and pepper
  3. Add the pecans and toss to coat
  4. Cook on medium low heat about 15 minutes. Stir every 5 minutes. Watch carefully so they don’t burn.
  5. Turn out on aluminum foil and let cool for 5 minutes; break apart if necessary.

Maple Dijon Vinaigrette

  • 3/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 2 Tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 Tbsp garlic, minced
  • pepper to taste

Nordstrom’s Champagne Vinaigrette

  • 1 tablespoon chopped shallot
  • 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup Champagne wine vinegar
  • 1 1/2 cups salad oil
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon white pepper

For either dressing, mix all ingredients in bowl using wire whisk. Place greens on individual plates. Sprinkle chopped pears, nuts and gorgonzola on top of salad greens.  Drizzle dressing over salad or serve on the side to suit individual tastes. Beautiful and delicious.

Serves 4-6


I appreciate your comments

